On Tuesday, January 12th 2010 I received a phone call shortly before 5 pm from my husband who was in Port-Au-Prince Haiti to visit his family. He told me that there had just been an earthquake and wanted to let me know that they were fine in case all services would break down.

The following days with the catastrophe unraveling on the media the question was asked by many to me personally, how to help, what charity? Back then I feared that the long term efforts after the immediate disaster relief would be hard to maintain once the news would stop pouring in. So I signed up with Habitat for Humanity.

Almost two years later it happened. I was able to help rebuild along with 399 other volunteers. This is the story from my own point of view of what was accomplished in this first major rebuilding effort.

My team for houses 606 and 608.